The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl (Paperback)

The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl Cover Image
$7.99
On Our Shelves Now
The Doylestown Bookshop
3 on hand, as of Jul 17 2:15am
(CJ-CHILDREN 4-6 GR AGES 9-11)
The Lahaska Bookshop
2 on hand, as of Jul 17 1:31pm
(CJ-CHILDREN 4-6 GR AGES 9-11)

Description


A lightning strike gave her a super power...but even a super genius can't solve the problem of middle school. This smart and funny novel is perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish, Rain Reign, and Counting by Sevens.

Lucy Callahan's life was changed forever when she was struck by lightning. She doesn't remember it, but the zap gave her genius-level math skills, and she's been homeschooled ever since. Now, at 12 years old, she's technically ready for college. She just has to pass 1 more test--middle school!

Lucy's grandma insists: Go to middle school for 1 year. Make 1 friend. Join 1 activity. And read 1 book (that's not a math textbook!). Lucy's not sure what a girl who does calculus homework for fun can possibly learn in 7th grade. She has everything she needs at home, where nobody can make fun of her rigid routines or her superpowered brain. The equation of Lucy's life has already been solved. Unless there's been a miscalculation?

A celebration of friendship, Stacy McAnulty's smart and thoughtful middle-grade debut reminds us all to get out of our comfort zones and embrace what makes us different.

"Fresh story, great characters, a winner!" --Barbara O'Connor, author of Wish

About the Author


Stacy McAnulty is the author of many books for young readers, including her newest middle grade, My World Ends in April, chapter book series The Dino Files and GoldieBlox and picture books including Excellent Ed, 101 Reasons Why I'm NOT Taking a Bath, and Beautiful. A former engineer, Stacy writes about math and science with authority. Visit her online at stacymcanulty.com or follow her on social media at:

Twitter: @stacymcanulty
Instagram: StacyMcAnulty
Facebook: StacyMcAnultyAuthor

Praise For…


"Unique and utterly satisfying."—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Prepare to fall in love."—School Library Journal, starred review

"Lucy’s journey is beautifully authentic in this debut brimming with warmth, wisdom, and math."—Publishers Weekly, starred review

“McAnulty’s well-drawn cast of characters grapple with the difficulties of middle school, friendships, and life. An engaging story, full of heart and hope. Readers of all ages will root for Lucy, aka Lightning Girl. No miscalculations here!” —Kate Beasley, author of Gertie’s Leap to Greatness

"Fresh story, great characters, a winner!" —Barbara O'Connor, author of Wish

"The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl is calculated to steal your heart!" - Alan Gratz author of Ban This Book and Refugee


Product Details
ISBN: 9781524767600
ISBN-10: 1524767603
Publisher: Yearling
Publication Date: April 2nd, 2019
Pages: 320