A Good Enough Mother (Large Print / Library Binding)

A Good Enough Mother Cover Image
$31.99
Usually Arrives to Store in 1-5 Days

Description


"Taut, absorbing and psychologically astute, in A Good Enough Mother Bev Thomas combines all the tension of a thriller with the emotional resonance of a powerful family drama."
--Paula Hawkins, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Girl on the Train

"Perfect for fans of The Silent Patient." --Booklist

A riveting page-turner that lets us inside the secret world of therapist and patient, where boundaries get crossed, and events spiral out of control. . .

Ruth Hartland is a psychotherapist with years of experience. But professional skill is no guard against private grief. The mother of grown twins, she is haunted by the fact that her beautiful, difficult, fragile son Tom, a boy who never "fit in," disappeared a year and a half earlier. She cannot give up hope of finding him, but feels she is living a kind of half-life, waiting for him to return.

Enter a new patient, Dan--unstable and traumatized--who looks exactly like her missing son. She is determined to help him, but soon, her own complicated feelings, about how she has failed her own boy, cloud her professional judgement. And before long, the unthinkable becomes a shattering reality....

An utterly compelling drama with a timebomb at its core, A Good Enough Mother is a brilliant, beautiful story of mothering, and how to let go of the ones we love when we must.

About the Author


Bev Thomas was a clinical psychologist in the NHS for many years. She currently works as an organizational consultant in mental health and other services. She lives in London with her family.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781432866556
ISBN-10: 1432866559
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Publication Date: July 24th, 2019
Pages: 482
Language: English