The Not-So-Boring Letters of Private Nobody (Hardcover)

The Not-So-Boring Letters of Private Nobody Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
The Doylestown Bookshop
10 on hand, as of May 26 1:30am
(CJ-CHILDREN 4-6 GR AGES 9-11)
The Lahaska Bookshop
1 on hand, as of May 26 12:45am
(CJ-CHILDREN 4-6 GR AGES 9-11)

Description


A trio of seventh graders become one another's first friends as they discover the secrets of a Civil War soldier in this middle grade novel for fans of Gordon Korman and Gary Schmidt

Twelve-year-old Oliver Prichard is obsessed with the Civil War. He knows everything about it: the battles, the generals, every movement of the Union and Confederate Armies. So when the last assignment of seventh-grade history is a project on the Civil War, Oliver is over the moon--until he's partnered with Ella Berry, the slacker girl with the messy hair who does nothing but stare out the window. And when Oliver finds out they have to research a random soldier named Private Raymond Stone who didn't even fight in any battles before dying of some boring disease, Oliver knows he's doomed.

But Ella turns out to be very different from what Oliver expected. As the partners film their documentary about Private Stone--with Oliver's friend Kevin signing on as their head writing consultant--Oliver discovers that sometimes the most interesting things are hiding in uninteresting places. Even Private Stone is better than expected: There's a mystery buried in his past, and Oliver knows he can figure it out.

About the Author


Matthew Landis slays boredom wherever it lurks in his eighth-grade social studies classroom. He lives in his hometown of Perkasie, PA, with his wife and two kids, and a boxer that acts much like the forgotten eldest child.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780735227989
ISBN-10: 0735227985
Publisher: Dial Books
Publication Date: February 13th, 2018
Pages: 304
Language: English