Dead Letters (Hardcover)

Dead Letters Cover Image
$27.00
On Our Shelves Now
5 on hand, as of May 23 1:10am
(FM-FICTION-MYSTERY/THRILLERS)

Description


A missing woman leads her twin sister on a twisted scavenger hunt in this clever debut novel of suspense for readers of Luckiest Girl Alive and Reconstructing Amelia.
-Ahoy, Ava Welcome home, my sweet jet-setting twin So glad you were able to wrest yourself away from your dazzling life in the City of Light; I hope my 'death' hasn't interrupted anything too crucial.-
Ava Antipova has her reasons for running away: a failing family vineyard, a romantic betrayal, a mercurial sister, an absent father, a mother slipping into dementia. In Paris, Ava renounces her terribly practical undergraduate degree, acquires a French boyfriend and a taste for much better wine, and erases her past. Two years later, she must return to upstate New York. Her twin sister, Zelda, is dead.
Even in a family of alcoholics, Zelda Antipova was the wild one, notorious for her mind games and destructive behavior. Stuck tending the vineyard and the girls' increasingly unstable mother, Zelda was allegedly burned alive when she passed out in the barn with a lit cigarette. But Ava finds the official explanation a little too neat. A little too Zelda. Then she receives a cryptic message--from her sister.
Just as Ava suspected, Zelda's playing one of her games. In fact, she's outdone herself, leaving a series of clues about her disappearance. With the police stuck on a red herring, Ava follows the trail laid just for her, thinking like her sister, keeping her secrets, immersing herself in Zelda's drama and her outlandish circle of friends and lovers. Along the way, Zelda forces her twin to confront their twisted history and the boy who broke Ava's heart. But why? Is Zelda trying to punish Ava for leaving, or to teach her a lesson? Or is she simply trying to write her own ending?
Featuring a colorful, raucous cast of characters, Caite Dolan-Leach's debut thriller takes readers on a literary scavenger hunt for clues concealed throughout the seemingly idyllic wine country, hidden in plain sight on social media, and buried at the heart of one tremendously dysfunctional, utterly unforgettable family.
Praise for Dead Letters
-In this, her startling debut novel, Dolan-Leach nimbly entwines the clever mystery of Agatha Christie, the wit of Dorothy Parker, and the inebriated Gothic of Eugene O'Neill. A sharp, wrenching tale of the true love only twins know.---Kirkus Reviews
-An exceptionally smart debut, Dead Letters by Caite Dolan-Leach is about estranged twin sisters playing a deadly cat-and-mouse game on their family's upstate New York vineyard, turning up long-buried family secrets, hidden terrors, and a tantalizing love triangle--a story that kept me guessing and compulsively turning pages to reach its surprising and very satisfying end.---Carla Buckley, author of The Good Goodbye
-Newcomer Caite Dolan-Leach shows us just how close twin sisters can be--and how shockingly far apart. With near-perfect plotting and an ear for the complicated lives of clever women, Dolan-Leach writes like Paula Hawkins by way of Curtis Sittenfeld.---Amy Gentry, author of Good as Gone
-A clever and compelling mystery that will keep you guessing until the end.---Laura McHugh, author of The Weight of Blood and Arrowood
-This absorbing debut is billed as literary suspense, which is exactly right; the language is smart and polished and the plot is one big, intriguing chase.---Library Journal

About the Author


Caite Dolan-Leach is a writer and literary translator. She was born in the Finger Lakes region and is a graduate of Trinity College Dublin and the American University in Paris. Dead Letters is her first novel.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780399588853
ISBN-10: 039958885X
Publisher: Random House
Publication Date: February 21st, 2017
Pages: 352
Language: English